Competition list


UPDATED 2nd August 2022 – Dates subject to change – Check StackTeamApp for latest information

Note competitions subject to weather conditions and can be changed at short notice.

Keep in touch with the club for update. Most communications are via StackTeamApp

You must advise you are fishing in the comp.

EAC 2022/2023 Meeting dates and competitions (numbered)
Date Club Meeting or Competition
Thursday, 20 October 2022 How to catch snapper 
Sunday, 23 October 2022 1. COMP Snapper (particular species ) and                           JA Furnell honour board event. Alternative date 30 October 
Thursday, 17 November 2022 Preparation for the snapper comp and how to catch snapper
Sunday, 20 November 2022 2. COMP Inter and Intraclub Snapper (particular species) Comp vs.  Ormond  
Saturday, 26 November 2022 Boat /kayak fishing in the Elwood/Brighton area social.
Wednesday, 30 November 2022 Maintenance on your boat and trailer 
Thursday, 8 December 2022 Ideal months for particular species top end of PPB
Sunday, 11 December 2022 3. COMP Mixed species AJ Pethridge  ( Alternative date 14th jan)
Friday, 16 December 2022 Presidents Christmas drinks  Club house 6.30 -8.30 pm 
Thursday, 12 January 2023 Rod and reel maintenance 
Saturday, 14 January 2023 New members fishing day .
Thursday, 19 January 2023 How to catch whiting & charter details
Saturday, 28 January 2023 Westernport charter 
Sunday, 29 January 2023 Westernport charter 
Thursday, 2 February 2023 Life jacket maintenance and flare management
Sunday, 5 February 2023 4. COMP Whiting (particular species) including Ted Wilkinson trophy
Thursday, 9 February 2023 Preparations for  St kilda Festival 
Sunday, 12 February 2023 St  Kilda festival 
Wednesday, 15 February 2023 How to fish Port Albert . Weather patterns and what apps to use
Saturday, 18 February 2023 5. COMP Port Albert all Species 
Sunday, 19 February 2023 Social fish Port Albert 
Thursday, 23 February 2023 kayak safety 
Sunday, 26 February 2023 Club luncheon  
Thursday, 2 March 2023 Fishing holidays 
Thursday, 9 March 2023 How to fish Westernport bay 
Sunday, 12 March 2023 6. COMP Fishing Westernport Bay from Hastings . Mixed fish but prefered species whiting
Thursday, 23 March 2023 Knots and rigs 
Saturday, 25 March 2023 New members fishing day .
Wednesday, 12 April 2023 Preparation for fishing  Bemm river 
Saturday, 15 April 2023 Bemm  River  away trip 
Sunday, 16 April 2023 Bemm River away trip 
Wednesday, 26 April 2023 Trout comp, at Alexandra, preparations 
Saturday, 29 April 2023 7. COMP Intra & Interclub Trout particular species vs. Ormond from Alexandra
Sunday, 30 April 2023 8. COMP Intra & Interclub Trout particular species vs. Ormond from Alexandra
Saturday, 20 May 2023 9. COMP interlcub v Ormond and intraclub 3 rivers particular species bream 
Sunday, 21 May 2023 10.  COMP interlcub v Ormond and intraclub 3 rivers particular species bream 
Thursday, 1 June 2023 How to catch native fish 
Sunday, 4 June 2023 Social fish Albert Park lake 
Thursday, 15 June 2023 Leader preparation and how to tie knots 
Thursday, 29 June 2023 How to catch a flathead .
Sunday, 2 July 2023 Arthur Parr shield  flathead comp 
Thursday, 13 July 2023 How to fish a surf beach 
Sunday, 16 July 2023 11. COMP Gunnamatta  beach/surf fish .  Mixed fish Preferred species Salmon 
Thursday, 27 July 2023 Fishing Venus Bay Surf beaches 
Sunday, 30 July 2023 Social fish Venus  Bay  Surf Beaches 
Thursday, 10 August 2023 Fishing during winter 
Saturday, 19 August 2023 12. COMP Squid particular species PPB
Thursday, 31 August 2023 How to catch garfish 
Saturday, 2 September 2023 13. COMP Garfish particular species
Thursday, 14 September 2023 How to fishing lakes in Victoria  
Saturday, 16 September 2023 14. COMP Fishing Lake Eildon Mixed species and preparation for lake eildon trip
Wednesday, 20 September 2023 Preparation for surf fishing west coast 
Sunday, 24 September 2023 15. COMP Fishing west coast surf beach   mixed fish preferred species Salmon 
Saturday, 14 October 2023 Presentation evening 

Weigh in time is one hour after lines up time unless otherwise stated

If a competitor is delayed for the Weigh-in they must contact an Angling committee member prior to the declared time.
Target species is the preferred species for the competition. If that species is not caught, other species will count.
To be eligible for Club Championship:
– a member can submit their best competition scores for up to 12 championship competitions. 
– a competitor must have points from competitions of at least two competition categories, namely Bay, Surf, Steam & River

If you have any queries, please contact Tony, Rick, Doron or Adrian who are on the fishing committee.

Fish caught during the competition must be of legal size and legal bag. Check the following for legal sizes Fisheries in Victoria
Maximum of 3 lines can be used during the fishing.

Competitions are generally for one kind of fish but individual biggest fish of a certain species is recognised: flathead, whiting, bream and snapper awards

Points are attributed as follows:
25 points for first
22 for second
20 for third

All other anglers get 1 point less in order of finishing; provided they catch a weighable fish
All other anglers get 5 points.

Posted in CompetitionComments Off on Competition list